Queue forever

When everything gets so stressful, I  read a book , watch a film or a couple. They’re ways to instantly escape reality sometimes even for just a short while. Well, that’s aside from sleeping which I usually do. :>

So this afternoon, Isabelle and I spontaneously decided to watch films from Cinemalaya which is an Independent Film Festival that happens yearly at CCP. We were really looking forward to watch Alvin Yapan’s Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa (The Dance of Two Left Feet) and and Marlon Rivera’s Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank). We arrived at the location 30 minutes before the showing. We were welcomed by an overwhelming number of people and really long lines. THE LINES WERE REALLY LONG and I thought that everybody went out to watch Harry Potter but I Was wrong. It’s kinda disappointing cause we didn’t really see a film today. Instead, we queued for three hours. THREE HOURS. Dude, those who queued for Harry Potter in cinemas, I bet, didn’t even spend an hour falling in line for tickets. But blah. Though a part of me’s amazed by how many Filipinos are starting to try and to support Indie Films. Thank God that little by little, people got enlightened.


The tickets we bought’re for next week and surprisingly Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa got sold out!@@ >:| And I am not going to make this season pass with out watching it. For compromise of the time we spent in queue, we also bought a couple of tickets for the film Amok.

Since this is already about Indie movies getting appreciated at last by more people, I must share my opinion about commercialized Filipino films cause Honesty, I hardly appreciate the usual ones, well-produced, ‘blockbuster’ films. If you had seen one, you’d know what I am saying. They can’t even think of original names for their films. Usually, if not always, they use American song titles as the film’s name. It’s so funny that I am laughing right now. I’d like to name a few but that would be too obvious. and the OST of the movie’s the song itself ‘revived’by a Pinoy singer. I tried seeing a couple of those in cinemas and those weren’t just worth it. But anyway, it’s too unfair to generalize it so I’m going to say that some cheesy ones were good. And it’s just one of so many points.

Before the day ended, we walked back to Taft and treated ourselves at Zark’s .

8 thoughts on “Queue forever

  1. i like your photos!! 😀 i haven’t been to the cinema in forever, ahh it’s too bad i didn’t get tickets for the new harry potter film, haha then i would’ve taken a trip down there. it’s not that i don’t like to go there, but i never have money when the films that i want to see are showing, just my luck!!

    i don’t think i have seen a filipino film so far, it seems like most of the films i’ve seen so far is either english or american, or norwegian. well it sounds like you had a great day in the end, i love junkfood haha!!

    1. Hi, Ida! I’ve heard about what happened weeks ago and I still feel terribly sorry about it. It’s an isolated case that affected a great number of people. The whole world’s mourning for such great loss of God’s gifts.

  2. Wow! I’d love to see one of these film fests! I know Toronto has them too (TIFF) but they are so overcrowded and commercialized now that it’s quite deterring to even think about heading down that way. Sounds like this one is turning out the same! It’s a shame though that someone who has been supporting these films for so long didn’t get a chance to sit back, relax, and dig into the social atmosphere of being in the dark with (mostly) strangers to enjoy one common thing- amazing, independent, film-making! Glad to see you’re keeping up with your blog- always love to read what’s going on in your part of the world! Thanks for the message, and I promise I’ll be keeping up better now :D.
    Cheers Danielle!

  3. That food looks yum, I haven’t had a good burger in a while. And your photos are really gorgeous. ❤

    I like indie films a lot, though I haven't seen too many. I think they have a different quality about them, much more unique. I don't know about those blockbuster films there but I don't really like watching films at the cinemas/theatres. I think a lot of the mainstream movies are pretty trashy… :X I don't like watching movies much at all, but I have an appreciation for indie films 🙂 It is good to know they are supported so much there too!

  4. Oh wow!! 3 hours is a long wait. That’s really too bad you didn’t get to actually see any movies though. :/ It is a good thing that more people are starting to watch Indie movies. 🙂 I love so many new indie movies that came out this past year & I really think they go unappreciated because they aren’t given hundred million dollar budgets, so they’re very low-key, but nevertheless, very good.

    You take fantastic pictures! 🙂

  5. The Woman in the Septic Tank sounds…odd. But interesting. The Filipino movie industry sounds a lot like the American film industry. Everyone goes out to see the big-budget movies, which are usually horrible, but the small gems go unappreciated. I’m a bit in between when it comes to the movies I like. I like the occasional “let’s just blow stuff up and throw in scantily clad models” movie, but I also like a good, quality indie film. I’m a sucker for special effects, sadly.

    That burger in the last picture looks delicious, by the way. 😀

  6. The food looks yummy! I live near Taft so I need to try that out sometime 🙂 Too bad I wasn’t able to watch the films at Cinemalaya this year due to a hectic schedule at work. Boo. At least you guys enjoyed! It’s good to see that a lot of Filipinos support Cinemalaya!

Leave a Reply

