If you’re already at the top, where else do you go?

This week has been pretty exhausting. Aside from academics, I recently joined an organization that I needed to worry about too. Exams are coming in and well, they’re a lot harder than I thought they’d be. Usually, like the other kids in school, I look forward on spending my weekends with my family and start a fresh new week on Mondays. Anyway, this week, I didn’t think I’d like to push through with my usual weekend spending extra hours in sleeping and going everywhere I like,I thought I’d rather go backwards or even just pause for a minute or a couple. Damn. I wasn’t suppose to go back home this week because of school stuff but I intended to do so because I’m uncomfortable spending the whole weekend not with my family. Call it child-like but yea, that’ how it s.  So yesterday, right after my classes and after attending on org stuff, I decided to go home and wished to review my lessons here. cause I’d be having a couple of exams on Monday and I am really really worried about it because of the reality that I suck at Chemistry and partly, Genetics. I never thought these stuff could actually get harder than I thought they already are. Therefore, I need to put extra effort in studying. IF I’m going to study. At this point, I am. I am.

I’ve heard so many times that life in the university is about the 3 S’s. Study, Social, and sleep. Unfortunately, you can only choose 2 cause you can’t have it all enough. Just two and it’s your decision which and which is not. Oh my, sacrifices, why do have to be done? What if I chose to sacrifice the wrong one? The one I’d be needing most? Right now, I try to balance the 3. I always sleep late during weekdays. I sleep at about 1am and my first class starts at 7am. During these times, I try to make myself believe that sleep is for the weak and there are lots of things to be done or else, I am dead. But well, I don’t want to pressure myself too much. Just as long as I am passing my courses, there’s nothing really big to worry about. Oh acads.

Anyway, when I got back home yesterday, a very bad news welcomed me. It’s a real bad one but there’s nothing to worry about since we’re all safe here. But in life, I know that things can happen in just a snap of a finger. In a paragraph of a mail sent to you, it can change your whole life and the lives of those who are around you. Not sure if it’s for the better, or for worse. But the point is, nothing is permanent and we should always be open and ready for change.

when you’re already at the top, where else do you go but down?

4 thoughts on “If you’re already at the top, where else do you go?

  1. School is tough. I know what it’s like to feel like there isn’t enough time in a day to do everything that’s necessary. It’s summer for me now, so that feeling seems like a far-off memory, but it’ll come back again soon. Just stay strong and trudge through. Just make sure you give yourself time to relax every now and then, even if it means half-assing an assignment now and then. Your well-being is more important.

  2. good luck with all of your exams!! life is a tough place, and sometimes we’re facing hard choices, but life wasn’t made for amateurs, and you sure isn’t an amateur!! stay strong and i believe you’ll do great!!

    i must admit though i need to see my family often too as well, i like to think they give me strengt (:

    i wish you good luck with everything!!

  3. Sorry that things have been stressful for you and that you got some bad news recently =/ I felt the same way that you could only have 2 S’s. I’m kind of amazed at how little sleep I got back in college. I hope things will get better though. Good luck with everything!

  4. I failed Chemistry so bad. Of course that was HS Chemistry, but I still wanted to share with you how retarded I am when it comes to the Chemistry. If I were in higher education right now, I would definitely sacrifice the social part of school. If you don’t study, you’ve just wasted money and years of your life. If you don’t sleep you might not retain your new learnings well enough and once again, you’ve just wasted money and years. Not being all that social would suck greatly, but the friends you will have will understand you need to focus on your education, and if they don’t- well, there’s also all the time in the world to make new friends after school. But that’s all coming from someone who is cynical and antisocial, so take what I say with a grain of salt. 😉

Leave a Reply

